My Cotswold Connection Story

cirencester.JPG
Image by @mycotswoldlife

I guess first I should say welcome to my new and exciting blog! The Cotswold Connection is my guide to stylish venues and events and the very best suppliers for all your family’s needs in the Cotswolds.

How this came to launch.

It was my husband’s work that drove our move to the south west about four years ago. Bath was where we first looked but the commute for my husband was impractical. A friend mentioned Cirencester as an alternative, so we went and had a look. Well, it was love at first sight both for the house and also for Cirencester and its surroundings. One house viewed, a walk around the town and we were in love with area, all in 6 weeks!

Looking back it was a pretty bold move as I have always lived in a town or cities in the UK or overseas, and have loved exploring them. However, in a very short time, despite being big city people from London, the Cotswolds is now very much our home.

A major reason, I have to admit that has helped a big city couple with two young children move to the Cotswolds and Cirencester in particular, is that is in fact in striking distance of London (phew) and also what I can only call happening Bristol, let alone the wonders of Bath, as well as some other major cities.

I would describe Circencester as a market town in the sense that it is a real fusion between town and country. Most of the people that I have met, like me, have moved from big cities, and, I have yet to meet someone who has not been delighted with their move. More about that coming to my blog.

A little about us

I live here with Martin, my husband and my children Harry (5) and Olivia (1). As a family we love exploring, eating out and I am always seeking out new venues and events around here for all of us either to do together, individually or as a couple. But I try to find something new, exciting and different. I have definitely discovered that the Cotswolds isn’t just about stunning scenery and quaint villages. It has so much more to offer. There are some really unique hidden gems. But the added bonus is all of this can be done in and around the most beautiful countryside ever.

My Challenge

My challenge around here has always been how you find these hidden gems. There are lots of people doing guides and websites. But I have never found one that focuses on venues and events with style that suits your whole family and the vast array of different celebrations that come up. All the venue search engines I have found have been either wedding or corporate. But don’t always fit occasions that could be as small as the perfect date night to not waste your precious time together to a large children or adult birthday party. Going to an event with a child can be stressful but I have found some gems that really welcome children and found some fantastic entertainers that can keep them and the adults mesmorised!! Yes I promise!

As I’ve built up my knowledge more and more friends started to ask me where would you recommend for this event? Where would you go or who would you use? I just get a buzz from helping people organize events and love uncovering new fab places and going to some fun events!

This part of the world is attracting more top chefs many of whom have worked in the top UK restaurants or run the top hotels and spa in London and like us, have decided they wanted a different pace of life and environment to bring up their family. But don’t want to miss out on some of the perks of city life! Buzzy bars, cocktails and amazing food.

As for me

I have worked for some of the biggest fashion brands with the pinnacle of my retail career in the biggest Topshop in the world, the other half of my career has been in events mainly corporate but also organizing fun expat events whilst I lived in India. So I love style whether that is fashion, photography or interiors, I am style obsessed and find any excuse for an event.

My Inspiration

But where do I go to inspire me? There are some amazing bloggers, instagrammers as well as Cotswold brands that I love to follow. I’m also bit snap happy when exploring. But if you are wanting to plan an event you need to have lots of contacts or will have to spend hours searching, which lets face it, as parents either working or not working, is something we don’t have. The internet mainly finds tourist focused sites or great sites that only offer one piece of the event puzzle.

My Mission

So I am here to change that! I want to be your trusted guide and first place to call upon to

  • find stylish venues for any of your family events,
  • to connect you with the best suppliers
  • ensure you have your finger is on the pulse and know about the best stylish events that the Cotswold currently has on offer or about to launch.

But I am keeping it real, catering for all budgets and sharing actual events that I have held or attended. I have visited all the venues myself and wouldn’t recommend anything I wouldn’t use myself. So watch out for venues of the week, real stories, reviews of events I have attended and much much more.

Like the idea? Got an event you are trying to plan? Please get in touch as I might just have what you are looking for and could save you a lot of time! Or if you have had any great finds please share as my search continues!

You can follow me on instagram, twitter and facebook as I share these hidden gems and if you like this, why not follow my blog!

Can’t wait to share my gems with you

Anna 


2 thoughts on “My Cotswold Connection Story

    1. Glad to hear it Jean. Me too. Got something for everyone. It’s my venue of the week. Got lots more gems like this to share! Have you got any other great discoveries

      Like

Leave a comment